Site Search

Colour Schemes

  • Default Colour Scheme
  • High Contrast Colour Scheme

Font Size

  • A
  • A
Reset Font Size

Cloud Computing Higher National Certificate/Diploma (HTQ)

Level 4 - Higher

Cloud Computing Higher National Certificate/Diploma (HTQ)

The future is already here. Master cloud and make the sky your limit.

Our cloud courses are awarded by Pearson UK and developed in collaboration with Amazon Web Services Educate.

The purpose of the Higher National Certificate (HNC) and Higher National Diploma (HND) Cloud Computing qualifications is to equip students with cloud computing skills, knowledge and the understanding necessary to be job ready in the cloud computing field.

The courses are awarded by Pearson UK and developed in collaboration with Amazon Web Services Educate. The HNC and HND course content is closely aligned with the needs of employers, professional bodies, vendors and higher education for a skilled future workforce with a range of modules to cater for a range of progression plans.  Students will study the HNC (Level 4) course during the first year of study and upon successful completion of the HNC qualification students can progress on to the HND (Level 5) course.

The HNC qualification has been aligned with the Cloud Practitioner Certification from Amazon Web Services (AWS) and the Cloud Support Associate job role. The HND qualification includes foundational content which can help students to prepare for both the AWS Certified Solutions Architect and the AWS Certified Developer exams at Associate Level.

Annual and modular tuition fees shown are applicable to the first year(HNC)of study. The College reserves the right to increase fees for subsequent years of study (HND) in line with increases in inflation (capped at 3%) or to reflect changes in Government funding policies or changes agreed by Parliament.



Sutton Coldfield College




Course Length: 34 Weeks


You will need UCAS Tariff Points: 32 points.

The tariff points can be made up of:

  • A Levels (GCE and VCE): 1 A Level at Grade C
  • BTEC Extended Diploma: Grade PPP
  • BTEC Diploma: Grade PP
  • Access to HE: Grade P45

Minimum number of GCSEs at Grade C/4 or above: 2 which must include:

  • GCSE English: Grade C/4
  • GCSE Maths: Grade C/4

Are Level 2 equivalents accepted? Yes, all students will be required to sit an English diagnostic assessment equivalent to Level 2. This is to establish if students require support and is used as a supportive tool only. Students whose first language is not English must have a minimum standard of English at IELTS Level 5.5 with no element below 5.0.


We encourage applications from students who do not meet the entry requirements outlined but can demonstrate ability through work experience, professional qualifications from their work sector, portfolio of evidence or successful interview.

Summative assessment methods are via Pearson UK or tutor set assignments and projects.  This will involve research and practical based tasks set within a world of work industry-based role/scenario to deliver a project covering the contents of the module.

Formative assessment methods are via tutorials, classroom-based learning and remote based learning. This includes weekly tasks set to learn and demonstrate new programming or AWS based knowledge learnt, consistent student feedback on your progression through each module, focusing on your strengths and weaknesses within the module and to ensure you develop further.

Students completing the HNC/D Cloud Computing course may go on to employment in the cloud computing field or progress to a final year at university.

Year 1 Modules:

  • Cloud Fundamentals
  • Computer Systems Architecture
  • Design and Development in the Cloud
  • Deploying and Operating in the Cloud (Pearson Set)
  • Networking in the Cloud
  • Programming
  • Security in the Cloud
  • Website Design and Development in the Cloud

Website design and development by Fifteen