Colour Schemes

  • Default Colour Scheme
  • High Contrast Colour Scheme

Font Size

  • A
  • A
Reset Font Size

Award Level 4 TAQA (401) Understanding the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes & Practices

These qualifications are for people working in or looking to work in assessment and internal quality assurance. They are designed for anyone assessing and carrying out quality assurance in all occupational sectors, accredited learning and non-accredited learning qualifications.

The Level 4 provides a route to understand internal quality assurance in learning and if required to qualify as an internal quality assurer (IQA).
The knowledge only units (6317-30) and (6317-40) are for anyone interested in knowing more about these areas of work. You do not need to be practitioners to achieve these units. However, you can progress onto the competence based units (6317-31, 32, 41) when role allows.

This course is delivered on 3 x 3 hour taught sessions or two full days in the classroom. The course covers all knowledge and understanding via criteria for unit 401 required to undertake the role of an Internal Quality Assurer. Assessment is then completed approximately 3 weeks later via submission of 2 academic assignments, followed by a professional discussion with the TAQA Assessor all of which are marked by a C&G set marking scheme.

Course Info

Level 4 - Higher
Subject Area
Course Type
Higher Education Part-Time
Sutton Coldfield College

Entry Requirements

You will be required to have at least level 2 English and maths. With occupational competance in your chosen vocational area. You will also be required to have enhanced DBS clearance.

Delivery and Assessment

The knowledge units will be assessed through exam conditions, along with a written presentation. You will also be observed assessing two learners in the work place and provide a portfolio of evidence.


On completion of these assessment awards you can go on to Education & Training Award